July 18, 2024

LSPhotography Blog

Articles and News related to London's Emergency Services and Public Transport

London Fire Brigade New Cross Fire Station

London Fire Brigade New Cross Fire Station

Details of London Fire Brigade’s E38 New Cross Fire Station, including Address, Allocation and History.

New Cross Fire Station


Command District:  Southeastern
Borough: Lewisham
Station Callsign: E38
Opened:  1894
Address: 266 Queen’s Road, London SE14 5JN


Allocation

1 x Mercedes Benz Atego 1327 Dual Pump Ladder (DPL)




Notes

New Cross was constructed by the London County Council in 1891 and was opened in June 1894 by the Metropolitan Fire Brigade.

With the outbreak of World War II, the Auxiliary Fire Service assumed control of New Cross in 1939, and it was here that one of London’s first black firefighters, George Arthur Roberts BEM was stationed.

Plaque at New Cross Fire Station commemoratin George Arthur Roberts BEM, one of the first black firefighters to serve in London Fire Brigade
Plaque commemorating George Arthur Roberts BEM at New Cross

Following the cessation of hostilities, the station returned to the control of the London Fire Brigade in 1948.

News Cross today stands as London’s oldest operational fire station and was saved from closure by the Mayor of London in 2013.