July 18, 2024

LSPhotography Blog

Articles and News related to London's Emergency Services and Public Transport

Southbury Station (SBU)

London Overground Southbury Railway Station

London Overground Southbury Railway Station

Details of London Overground's Southbury Station, including Address, Service Pattern and History.

Southbury Railway Station

Address: Southbury Road, Enfield
Middlesex EN3 4HW
Opened: 1 October 1891
Station Code: SBU
Fare Zone: 5

London Overground Line(s) Served:

Lea Valley Lines (Cheshunt Branch)

Service Pattern(s):

Two trains per hour to Liverpool Street via Seven Sisters
Two trains per hour to Cheshunt

Station History

Churchbury Station opened as part of the Churchbury Loop line from Bury Street Junction to Cheshunt, owned by the Great Eastern Railway, on 1st October 1891.

Due to the rural nature of the areas served by the line, combined with the arrival of tramways as far as Waltham Cross, the Great Eastern could not compete financially and the Churchbury Loop was closed to passenger services on 1st October 1909.

The Outbreak of World War I saw a massive increase in the productivity of the various munitions factories along the Lea Valley. Passenger services along the Churchbury Loop were reinstated on 1 March 1915 to ferry workers to the factories, but these ceased again on 1 July 1919.

The line stayed open to serve freight trains and the station goods yard. Passenger services were reinstated and the station reopened as Southbury following the electrification of the line on 21 November 1960, with the line being renamed the Southbury Loop. Following a marked decline in traffic, the station goods yard closed in 1970.

With the creation of sectorisation of British Rail in 1982, all passenger services in the London & South East region were rebranded as Network Southeast. This lasted until privatisation when the line through Southbury passed to West Anglia Great Northern in January 1997. Another change occurred in April 2004, when the station became part of the East Anglia franchise, operated by National Express.

The final change in ownership came in May 2015 when the Southbury Loop and Enfield Town lines were devolved to London Overground.