London Overground – Leytonstone High Road Station (LER)
Address: High Road, Leytonstone E11 4RE
Opened: July 1894
Station Code: LER
Fare Zone: 3
OSI: Leytonstone LU (0.4 miles)
London Overground Line(s) Served:
Gospel Oak to Barking Line
Service Pattern(s): 4 trains per hour in each direction
‘Leytonstone’ station was opened by the Tottenham & Forest Gate Railway as part of their new line from South Tottenham to Woodgrange Park on 9 July 1894.
Leytonstone was unique in the fact that, due to the restricted space of the site its goods yard was at ground level, so wagons had to be moved from the goods line located behind the eastbound platform via a hydraulic hoist.
Following Nationalisation in 1948, ownership of the station passed to British Railways and it was renamed Leytonstone High Road on 1 May 1949. The original wooden platform buildings were destroyed by fire in the early 1950s and were replaced with long flat canopies built to the standards of the time.
Due to a drop in traffic, the station goods yard was closed on 6 May 1968, the same day as the yard at Leyton Midland Road.
In the early 1980s, service levels on the line were cut back to just 1 train an hour and ticket offices were closed with staff withdrawn.
Following the takeover of the line by Transport for London and the establishing of the London Overground, Leytonstone High Road has seen extensive modernisation and refurbishment, including the installation of ticket barriers.